EU Sources - Eurostat updates minimum wage data - February 28, 2017

According to Eurostat, the statistical body of the European Union, 22 out of the 28 member states of the EU have national minimum wages as of 1 January 2017. Only Denmark, Italy, Cyprus, Austria, Finland and Sweden do not have one. The 22 EU Member States that have national minimum wages can be divided into three main groups based on the level in euro. Ten member states, located in the east of the EU, have minimum wages below €500 per month. In five other Member States, located in the south, minimum wages are between €500 and €1 000 per month. In the remaining seven member states, all located in the west and north of the EU, minimum wages were well above €1,000 per month. The disparities in minimum wages across the EU States are considerably smaller once price level differences are eliminated.

English: ...  

For more information, please contact the editor Jan Cremers, Amsterdam Institute for Advanced Labour Studies (AIAS) or the communications officer at the ETUI, Willy De Backer For previous issues of the Collective bargaining newsletter please visit Since June 2013 readers can consult our archive and search through all articles in our database at www.cbnarchive.euYou may find further information on the ETUI at, and on the AIAS at

© ETUI aisbl, Brussels 2016. All rights reserved. We encourage the distribution of this newsletter and of the information it contains, for non-commercial purposes and provided the source is credited. The ETUI is not responsible for the content of external internet sites. The ETUI is financially supported by the European Union. The European Union is not responsible for any use made of the information contained in this publication.
This email is sent from

News Archive